Olive Garden Copycat Zuppa Toscana Soup

18 07 2011

Now I know it isn’t exactly soup weather however the temperatures where I live have dropped from the 100’s into the mid 90’s so I can justify making soup. This is my all time favorite soup and I was so happy that I found a copycat recipe that tastes as good as getting it at the Olive Garden. So when I got some Kale in my bountiful basket this weekend I knew exactly what I would be making with it!


Olive Garden Copycat Zuppa Toscana Soup

~ 1 lb. Italian sausage (mild or hot based on your liking)

~ 2 large russet baking potatoes, sliced in half and then in 1/4 inch slices

~ 1 large onion, chopped

~ 5 slices of bacon (more if you want), cooked and crumbled

~ 2 cloves garlic, minced

~ 2 cups kale, chopped

~ 2 cans chicken broth

~ 1 quart water

~ 1cup heavy whipping cream

1. Cook sausage in skillet until brown. Drain on paper towels and then crumble.

2. Place onions, potatoes, chicken broth, water, and garlic in a pot. Cook on medium heat until potatoes are done. Once potatoes are done mash them up a bit with the back of a spoon to thicken the soup.

3. Add sausage and bacon.

4. Salt and pepper to taste and the simmer for another 10 minutes.

5. Turn to low heat and add kale and cream. Heat through and then serve.

Click Below to Print Recipe

Olive Garden Copycat Zuppa Toscana Soup

Actions

Information

6 responses

18 07 2011
Jenn

Yummy – this is my favorite soup ever! I freeze gallon sized bags of homemade chicken or turkey stock just so I can make this!

I’ve found that the recipe is so forgiving – I usually use regular milk or fat free half and half, rarely add bacon because I hate cooking bacon (love eating it, though. lol), and we mix up the greens depending on what we have…

So delicious!

Thanks for posting – love your blog. :)

18 07 2011
callie3

I agree this soup is very forgiving! Changing things a bit and it still tastes amazing. We have also used chard instead of kale but kale is my favorite green in this.

Glad you enjoy the blog!

25 02 2012
What was in those baskets on February 25th « 4peatssake

[...] Olive Garden Copycat Zuppa Toscana Soup [...]

10 03 2012
What was in those baskets on March 10th « 4peatssake

[...] Olive Garden Copycat Zuppa Toscana Soup (also uses onion and potatoes from last weeks basket) [...]

29 04 2012
What was in those baskets on April 28th « 4peatssake

[...] Olive Garden Copycat Zuppa Toscana Soup [...]

9 06 2012
What was in those baskets on June 9th « 4peatssake

[...] Olive Garden Copycat Zuppa Toscana Soup [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers

