BBQ Chicken Salad

27 02 2011

There are a few food blogs that I follow and when I see something that looks great I give it a try.  If my family likes it we add it to our favorite recipes.  Once of these blogs is Two Peas and Their Pod. I have enjoyed several recipes from this blog and they are amazing.  The other day I came across their BBQ Chicken Salad and the picture was so amazing that I knew I had to try it.  I was a bit worried about the warm potatoes on the side but I gave them a try and let me tell you, you must not omit this from the recipe.  It was very simple to make and delicious.  The dressing is amazing and it made enough for me to have another salad for the next week.

bbq-chicken-salad

I can’t take credit for this amazing picture of the salad.  It is from Two Peas and Their Pod and it made me drool just looking at that amazing salad.  It also includes French fried onions, which just makes it even more amazing. A great salad, enjoy!

 

BBQ Chicken Salad

For the Avocado Vinaigrette:

2/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup rice vinegar
1 medium shallot, chopped
3 tablespoons peach jam
1 medium ripe avocado
Salt and pepper to taste

For the Blue Cheese Vinaigrette:

2/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup rice vinegar
1 medium shallot, chopped
1-2 garlic cloves, dry pan roasted and chopped
2 tablespoons peach jam
1 cup sour cream
1 cup blue cheese or Gorgonzola
Salt and pepper to taste

For the potatoes:

2-3 pounds red potatoes, washed
1 stick butter
1 medium shallot, minced
1 small bunch parsley, finely chopped

For the chicken:

Chicken breasts
BBQ sauce-use your favorite brand

For the salad:

Mixed greens
Tomatoes, chopped
Black beans, rinsed and drained
Corn
French fried onions

1. To make the avocado vinaigrette-put all of the ingredients into a food processor or blender. Mix until smooth.

2. To make the blue cheese vinaigrette-put all of the ingredients into a food processor or blender. Mix until smooth. If the dressing is too thick, add a drizzle of extra olive oil and mix again.

3. To make the potatoes-boil a large pot of water and salt well. Boil potatoes until they are fork tender. Drain the water and return potatoes to the pot. Stir in butter, shallot, and parsley. Stir well. Set aside and keep warm until serving.

4. Grill the chicken and brush each piece liberally with bbq sauce. Cut into strips and set aside.

5. To plate the salads-place mixed greens on a plate. Lay the sliced chicken on top of the greens. Top with tomatoes, black beans, corn, and fried onions. Place a few warm potatoes on the side. Drizzle entire salad with avocado vinaigrette and blue cheese vinaigrette.

Click Below to Print

BBQ Chicken Salad

Actions

Information

12 responses

27 02 2011
Addison

Wow, that sounds absolutely delicious. I love chicken salad, and the kick from the bbq I bet is awesome.

27 02 2011
Benjamin Mucha

Hey this is Ben I love that you made my salad! This gives my all kinds of digital validation. Try the Gorgonzola dressing on heirloom tomatoes. Going to look into the basket thing- way cool

28 02 2011
callie3

Your salad was amazing!!! I loved the blue cheese dressing and we have tried it on other things like potatoes as well. Not to mention it was so easy to make. Thanks for the amazing recipe.

12 03 2011
What was in those baskets this week? « 4peatssake

[…] for them later.  I am planning on making my Oven Roasted Green Beans with Garlic.  I loved the BBQ Chicken Salad so much that I will be making that again with my lettuce and tomatoes.  If I can keep my kids from […]

26 03 2011
What was in the baskets this week? « 4peatssake

[…] the lettuce, carrots, and tomatoes check out the BBQ chicken Salad recipe for a great spring time dinner […]

11 06 2011
What was in those baskets on June 11th « 4peatssake

[…] dinner to use up some of your salad ingredients from your basket try my Taco Salad, Greek Salad, or BBQ chicken Salad recipes. All three are great and would use up your lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, and whatever else […]

13 08 2011
What was in those baskets on August 13th. « 4peatssake

[…] would use up some of those tomatoes. Tomato and Basil Brushetta, Taco Salad, Greek Chicken Wraps, BBQ Chicken Salad, or Greek […]

3 03 2012
What was in those baskets on March 3rd « 4peatssake

[…] BBQ Chicken Salad […]

10 03 2012
What was in those baskets on March 10th « 4peatssake

[…] BBQ Chicken Salad […]

31 03 2012
What was in those baskets on March 31st « 4peatssake

[…] BBQ Chicken Salad […]

6 05 2012
What was in those baskets on May 5th « 4peatssake

[…] BBQ Chicken Salad […]

9 06 2012
What was in those baskets on June 9th « 4peatssake

[…] BBQ Chicken Salad […]

Leave a Reply

