What was in those Baskets this week?

9 04 2011

We were so lucky this week. The clouds cleared and it stopped snowing just long enough for use to get all the baskets out to everyone.  A great big thanks to all the volunteers who showed up to help.  We wouldn’t be able to do it with out you. Also some great news that Kingman will be running Bountiful Baskets every week and will have 96 baskets available. Hope to see everyone next week.

_DSC1037

This weeks basket had 1 strawberry, 1 blueberry, 1 celery, 1 lettuce, 2 cabbages, 7 bananas, 6 oranges, 6 apples, 9 green peppers, 1 bundle of tomatoes and 3 chayote’s.

I am planning on using my tomatoes and lettuce to make a Greek salad which I will post later in the week. The green peppers can be chopped and added to pasta and soups.  I also heard someone say they grill them on the barbecue and add cheese on the top.  I think I am going to give that a try.  The Chayote can be sautéed like you would any other squash as well as added to soups or stews.  I haven’t decide what to do with mine yet so check back and see. I can’t wait to make cabbage salad with my cabbage and I will post the recipe as well. Check out the Lemon Ricotta Pound Cake with Berries if you need something to use your berries on. Mine are usually gone in a few days. I made the Chicken Tortilla Soup for dinner and added one of the Chayote cut up into it. I hope everyone enjoys there basket and has a great week.

Actions

Information

6 responses

9 04 2011
Elaine & Ben Hible

We got this site from my daughter in Utha and have enjoyed it so much. We look forward to getting our fruit and veg. We love helping as its nice to see all the people come get there things. Callie we love this so much and thank you from the bottom of our hearts for getting it going here. Keep up the good work.
Elaine and Ben Hilbe

9 04 2011
callie3

Thanks so much for the kind words. You guys are so awesome to come volunteer every week no matter what happens. This wouldn’t work with out your help. See you next week.

11 04 2011
Rachel

Callie I was wondering if this weeks baskets are all gone already or just not available yet. Thanks

11 04 2011
callie3

Our site hasn’t gone up on the website for some reason. I am working on trying to figure out if we will be up or not. Sorry for the inconvenience I will keep you posted.

11 04 2011
Rachel

Thanks Callie Just ordered.

11 04 2011
callie3

So glad you got one, see you Saturday!

Leave a Reply

