What was in the Baskets this week?

16 04 2011

We had a fantastic Bountiful Basket this week. It was full to the brim with great looking fruits and vegetables. So many that I had to take pictures of just the fruit and just the vegetables so you could see everything.

_DSC1063

For the fruit I got a cantaloupe, 1 basket of strawberries, 5 oranges, 7 lemons, 5 apples, and 8 bananas.

_DSC1064

In the vegetable basket I got 8 cucumbers, 1 head of lettuce, 1 celery, 1 bag of carrots, 1 bunch of broccoli, 2 bags of radishes, and 7 onions.

_DSC1067

I also got the Tropical pack this week and it came with 1 pineapple, 1 coconut, 3 mango’s, 2 lemons, 2 limes, 1 starfruit, 2 vanilla beans, and a bag of mint.

I know we are going to be having lots of fruit salad around my house for the next week. I am planning on using my lemons to make Paula Dean’s lemon blossoms. I will post the recipe and pictures when I make them. Check out my Carrot and Raisin Salad it will use your whole bag of carrots. I am planning on making a Taco Salad with the head of lettuce but the Greek Salad I made last week was amazing and the salad dressing used lemon juice.  You can also make homemade Tzatziki with the cucumbers and lemon so that you can have Greek Chicken Wraps. For a cool desert check out my Lemon Ricotta Pound Cake with Berries for a dessert similar to Strawberry Shortcake. I plan on making a simple summer salad with the cute little cucumbers, recipe will be posted in a few days. Keep checking back for more great recipes and let me know what things you are planning on making with you Bountiful Basket.  See you next Saturday!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

