What was in those bountiful baskets on 4-23-11

23 04 2011

A great basket full of fresh produce to use for my Easter meal on Sunday.

_DSC1114

The baskets had 1 basket of strawberries, 1 pineapple, 1 honeydew, 1 bag of apples plus 2 small apples, 2 grapefruits, 1 bunch of broccoli, 1 bunch of asparagus, 3 cucumbers, 4 yellow squash, 8 yams, and 1 daikon.

The daikon was the vegetable that I had not had before and I Googled it. It is a Japanese radish that is milder than a radish like we got last week. You can shredded it up and add it to salads. I am planning on making masked potatoes with mine. Boil 50% potatoes and 50% daikon and then make your mashed potatoes like you would usually make. It will be a new experience in our household.

For the rest of the produce I am planning on making Chicken and Broccoli Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce. It was a great dish that my family can not wait to have again. Try making strawberry lemonade with you strawberries. I will also be making a strawberry cake and will post that recipe in the next few days. Sweet potato fries are a favorite in our house and I will make that with the yams. I have still been obsessed with Greek flavors and have been making a Greek salad for lunch with the cucumbers but don’t forget about the Greek chicken wraps with taztziki sauce. It has been awhile since we have had asparagus and a favorite in our house is oven roasted asparagus but don’t forget about the prosciutto wrapped asparagus. I am defiantly making grilled pineapple with my pineapple one night.  A favorite in this house. Hope everyone has a great Easter and enjoys this weeks bountiful basket. Let me know what you plan to make with your bountiful basket.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 04 2011
Gretchen

Seriously, Callie?? You’ve been home for what, 15 minutes and you already have this up?? You’re crazy!! 🙂 But I still love ya! 🙂

23 04 2011
callie3

I try to get it up as fast as I can so people can get some ideas for their produce! I may be a bit crazy but good crazy! If you need a break today or any other day for that matter let me know.

Leave a Reply

