What was in those Bountiful Baskets on May 7th

7 05 2011

Thanks for all the volunteers that showed up to help us out this morning. Another late truck but we were able to sort produce very quickly and we got big baskets this week as well.

_DSC1276

The basket was so big again that I took two pictures so you can see all the great produce we have. This week we got 1 pineapple, 1 basket of blackberries, 2 Jicama, 5 oranges, 5 apples, 9 red potatoes, 2 cucumbers, 5 bananas, 1 cantaloupe, 1 head of lettuce, 1 bag of green beans, 4 tomatoes, and 3 broccoli heads. Can’t wait to enjoy all my fruit and veggies this week!

_DSC1277

I am so excited to get red potatoes today. My all time favorite recipe for them is the Pioneer Woman’s Smashed Hot Potatoes. Such an easy way to make them plus so many variations. You can top with all kinds of fresh herbs especially if you got the herb pack. I also love mashed potatoes and my Cheesy Garlic Mashed Potatoes are another favorite of mine.

I haven’t had green beans in awhile now and can’t wait to make Oven Roasted Green Beans with Garlic. If you still have onions left over from a few weeks ago like I do it also uses a whole onion as well.

My kids love to eat sliced cucumbers on their own so if I am able to have any left over I am planning on making Tzatziki Sauce to put on my Greek Chicken Wraps as well as a few diced up cucumbers.

Jicama was something new that I have not cooked with. I have seen it before on salad bars and have tried it. I am not sure what I am planning on doing with my Jicama but check back for recipes. If you want more info on it as well as a few recipes check out Sally’s Place.

My family has become slightly obsessed with the Chicken and Broccoli Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce recipe that I posted a couple of weeks ago. Not to many things I make for dinner get my daughter quite as excited as this. I am planning on making it again this week since it is such a hit but check out some other recipes for your broccoli.

I have a few new recipes that I want to give a try this week. I have been waiting for blackberries every since I saw a recipe for Lemon Ricotta Blackberry Muffins on Two Peas and their Pod. If they aren’t all eaten by tomorrow morning this recipe will be made. Since it is starting to warm up sorbet and ice cream have been more and more appealing and this Tropical Fruit Sorbet looks so refreshing. So I might be using some of my pineapple and banana’s for this recipe. Keep checking back to see what’s new and let me know what your plans are for your bountiful basket this week.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

