What was in those baskets on June 4th.

4 06 2011

Another late truck today but we made the best of it. Called all the participants to inform them of the new pick up time and off we went. A big thanks to our amazing volunteers. We have such a great group of volunteers many who help out every week. This truly wouldn’t run with out all you volunteers.

_DSC1552

I was so excited to see this weeks basket. Artichokes and grapes are a favorite in our house. This week we got 1 bag of grapes, 1 basket of strawberries, 1 bag of potatoes, 1 cantaloupe, 5 bananas, 4 apples, 3 tomatoes, 2 artichokes, 1 bunch of celery, 1 head of lettuce and 6 ears of corn.

Now in our house the fruit doesn’t last long because the kids eat it all so quickly so I don’t usually find myself needing many recipes for it. However this Strawberry Cake was delicious especially with a bit of whipped cream on top. If you need a refreshing summer drink try Strawberry Lemonade.

I don’t know about the rest of you but I still have a lot of potatoes left over from last week so this week we will have to work hard to get them eaten. For a summer time salad try the Bacon Ranch Potato Salad. Or give Smashed Hot Potatoes, Cheesy Potato Cakes, or Cheesy Garlic Mashed Potatoes a try. All are great recipes.

I love artichokes but I know a lot of people have not had them before. My family loves them and if you need help trying to figure out how to prepare them check out How to Cook and Eat an Artichoke.

Hope everyone has a great week and we will see you next Saturday. Let me know what you plans for you bountiful basket are this week.

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 06 2011
Shannon

I’m really impressed with our little community. I’ve yet to see a shortage of volunteers, which I’ve heard is an issue at many sites.
My big plans this week were making marmalade, strawberry jam, and chicken corn chowder. Everything came out pretty good, considering I’ve never really done any canning!
The soup was awesome! Walmart has a cream soup base in their camping/emergency foods, and I used that with fresh corn and potatoes from my basket, and topped it off with some canned chicken breast and frozen broccoli to turn it into a meal.

7 06 2011
callie3

I agree with you. We always have tons of volunteers which makes things go faster! Your chicken corn chowder soup sounds great! See you Saturday.

Leave a Reply

