What was in those baskets on July 2nd

2 07 2011

What a great week we had. Even though the truck was an hour late we got it all unloaded, sorted, and distributed in an hour! That is a record! We could not have done it without our amazing volunteers. Thanks for all your help.

_DSC1741

This weeks basket had bananas, broccoli, carrots, chard, grapes, lettuce, canary melon, nectarines, pears, butternut squash, and tomatoes.

I have never had a canary melon before so I am excited to give it a try. After doing some research on the internet I have found that it is a bit tangier than a honeydew. I am sure my kids will eat it up in a few days!

My favorite way to eat butternut squash is to just roast it in the oven with some brown sugar and butter. Check out the roasted butternut squash recipe.

We are planning on making Chicken and Broccoli Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce. We have everything in our pantry so it makes for an easy week night dinner. I really loved the Broccoli with Cashews but if you are looking for a cooler side dish try the Broccoli and Tortellini Salad. I have a few more broccoli recipes under broccoli hopefully you will find one that you like.

Chard is not one of my favorite veggies because it can be a bit bitter but I love to use it in a copy cat recipe of Olive Gardens Zuppa Toscana soup. Now I know it isn’t exactly soup weather but I really do love this soup and have been craving it for a few months now. I will post the recipe later in the week. A lot of people like to sauté the chard with garlic. What is your favorite way to cook chard?

_DSC1744

I also got the chip and dip pack this week which included 2 lbs. of tortillas ready to make chips with, cilantro, avocados, limes, jalapeno, onion, and garlic. I love avocado and can’t wait to make a few different dips with them. I haven’t decided if I am going to bake or fry my chips but I am sure they will taste great. Here are directions for baking your tortilla chips or for deep frying you tortilla chips.

I hope everyone has a great 4th of July weekend and enjoys all their wonderful fruits and veggies. See you next week!

Actions

Information

One response

2 07 2011
Carrie

I was in Kingman for the weekend visiting family and still could not keep myself away from a couple of baskets. The family was amazed at what we got got for so little. I am used to our small site of 35 baskets. This site has the teamwork thing down really well. We were informed when we arrived it would be a while for the late truck. My son and I decided to stay and help unload the truck when it did arrive and load the baskets. All the volunteers got to work and wow, it took so little time. Thank you for your hospitality and next time we are visiting family, we will see you again.

Leave a Reply

