What was in those baskets on July 9th

9 07 2011

A great basket this week and lots of great volunteers. Thanks for all you do to make bountiful baskets work in Kingman.

_DSC1823

This weeks basket hat cauliflower, broccoli, mushrooms, carrots, spinach, tomatoes, pineapple, banana, pear, figs, plums, and apricots.

The great thing about spinach is a bunch of spinach can be wilted down and added to almost anything. Any recipe that calls for a box of frozen spinach you can wilt down your bundle and use. I am a big fan of the Chicken Parmesan Bundles but also check out the Spinach Mushroom Cannelloni or the White Pizza with Spinach and tomatoes.

I am a big fan of mushrooms and have no problem slicing them onto a salad. If you are looking for a dinner option try Chicken with Prosciutto, Fontina, and Mushroom Sauce or The Pioneer Woman’s Creamy Chicken Spaghetti Casserole.

I am going to be making Broccoli with Cashews this week with my broccoli. I think I could eat the whole bowl by myself it is so yummy. Check out the other broccoli recipes I have as well.

As for the cauliflower I have not decided what I am going to make yet but Oven Roasted Cauliflower, Cauliflower Fritters, or Cauliflower with White Sauce are all great options.

To be honest I have never had figs before so I will see what things I come up with. Keep checking back to see what I have cooking in my kitchen. See everyone next week!

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 07 2011
Elaine Hible

Why did some baskets get pineapple and others didn’t?
Elaine

10 07 2011
callie3

We were short 19 off of the truck so we substituted 4 pears or another box of figs in place of the pineapple.

9 07 2011
Jenn

Figs are sooooo good! Fresh ones, raw, are my FAVORITE fruit! YUMMY I’ve also heard of people cutting them in half and topping with goat cheese and honey, but I prefer them plain. YUM!
I’m jealous! Our site didn’t get figs! Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

