What was in those baskets on July 16th

16 07 2011

A great week this week. The weather was a bit cooler which I enjoyed much better than 105+. Thanks again to all the wonderful volunteers, you are amazing.

_DSC1826

This week we got tomatoes, blackberries, cucumber, melon, lettuce, bananas, plums, pears, cauliflower, broccoli, nectarines, green onions, and kale.

If you are looking for a cool salad try my broccoli and tortellini salad. I am in love with the broccoli with cashews and will probably be making that with my broccoli. If you are looking for a whole meal check out chicken and broccoli stir fry with peanut sauce.

If your blackberries last more than a day give the blackberry cake or purple cow frozen yogurt a try. If you are just looking for a something yummy to dip your fruit in try the fruit dip. Not healthy but very delicious!

Cauliflower is one of my favorite veggies! My new favorite way to cook it is oven roasted cauliflower. Growing up my favorite was Cauliflower with white sauce. Cauliflower fritters are also a great option as well.

This week I am planning on making plum bread with some of my plums and Zuppa Toscana Soup with the Kale. The green onions will be used in a Enchilada casserole. Keep checking back for those recipes and let me know what you are doing with all your bounty!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

