What was in those baskets on September 10th

10 09 2011

I know I have been away from the weekly bountiful basket update for a few weeks. I have been enjoying my baskets but have been so busy. Thanks again to all the wonderful volunteers in Kingman, bountiful baskets would not be quite as wonderful without all of you!

_DSC1977

This weeks basket had figs, peaches, plums, bananas, pears, grapes, spinach, lettuce, sweet potato fries, and cauliflower.

I was really excited to see sweet potatoes in our basket this week. I can’t wait to make sweet potato fries with them. If you aren’t up for that give the Sweet Potato and Paremsan Chips a try or Mashed Sweet Potato Casserole.

Cauliflower with White Sauce is an easy side dish to make along with Oven Roasted Cauliflower. For something a bit different try Cauliflower Fritters. Last week I mashed our cauliflower in with our mashed potatoes for a great side dish.

I am planning on making Mini Florentine Cups with my spinach from this week but another favorite in our house is Chicken Parmesan Bundles. If you are looking for something else try Lazy Baked Greek Chicken, Spinach Mushroom Cannelloni, or White Pizza with Spinach and Tomatoes.

Whatever you make with your basket I am sure it will be great. Let me know what you plan on making with your basket and I will see you next week!

Actions

Information

5 responses

10 09 2011
Audree B. York

How about an idea for the figs…I have never had them before

10 09 2011
callie3

My husband just eats them like candy. He loves them and he has never had fresh figs before. If you aren’t a fan check out Fig Newtons with Fresh Figs. http://chickensintheroad.com/farm-bell-recipes/fig-newtons-with-fresh-figs/

10 09 2011
Judy Walton

Thanks so much for the great ideas!

10 09 2011
alisonwonderland

Thanks for sharing your ideas! I’m new to Bountiful Baskets and am enjoying incorporating more fruits and vegies in our menus.

10 09 2011
Carolyn Beall

I wish I had got spinach.. some great sounding recieps

Leave a Reply

