What was in those baskets on October 1st

1 10 2011

I know I have been gone for a few weeks and have missed helping out with bountiful baskets. Coaching the local swim team has taken up a lot of my time. I was glad to be back this week and see all the wonderful volunteers that we have at our Kingman site. Of course they didn’t disappoint either, sorting all the baskets in record time! What a great way to spend a few hours on a Saturday!

_DSC2015

We got a lot of wonderful produce like usual. Lettuce, cantaloupe, grapes, bananas, pears, lemons, kiwi, tomatoes, red and green bell peppers, and corn.

I found a recipe that looks great for corn chowder, I am going to give that a try this week so be on the look out in coming days for it. Most of the fruit my children eat, I am starting to think that my youngest might be turning into a fruit since he eats so much of it. For the iceberg lettuce I like to make lettuce wraps since the iceberg holds up better than the romaine. I loved this tomato and basil bruschetta recipe and it might be in our future. For the bell peppers I like to saute them up with any other veggies in my fridge along with some sweet Italian sausage and some red wine. Mix in a bit of heavy cream and you have a great pasta sauce filled with veggies. Let me know what fun plans you have with your basket and I will see you all next Saturday!

Actions

Information

One response

1 10 2011
Tori

My younger daughter is a fruit fiend as well. She could eat half of our cantaloupe in one sitting…maybe more if we let her. I roasted my bell peppers to freeze and save for later since we’ve had a lot of bell pepper recipes at our house this last week, but I like your pasta sauce idea. I’ll have to keep that in mind. The bruchetta looks great, too. I think the rest of my tomatoes are destined for some red sauce to go in the freezer, baby #3 comes in a couple months and it will be nice to have some meals ready to thaw and eat.

Leave a Reply

