Chicken in Basil Cream Sauce

12 10 2011

I know I haven’t been posting many recipes lately and that is due to the fact that most of what I am cooking is super simple standbys because I am so busy with swim season. Three more weeks to go and High School swim season is over here in Arizona and I am free until next season.

About a week ago I decided that I wanted to give something new a try and I found this recipe on Favorite Family Recipes. The picture looked amazing and so I gave it a try. It was a great chicken recipe that I enjoyed, I am sure it will become a standby in my recipe collection.

Chicken in Basil Cream Sauce

~ 1 cup milk

~ 1 cup Italian Bread Crumbs (I like Panko)

~ 4 chicken breasts cut into halves (8 pieces)

~ 1/4 cup butter

~ 1 cup chicken broth

~ 2 cups whipping cream

~ 1 tsp. dried basil

~ 1/8 tsp. pepper

~ 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1. Pound and flatten the chicken out to about 1/2 to 1/4 inch in thickness so that it cooks evenly throughout.

2. Place milk and bread crumbs in separate shallow bowls. Dip chicken in milk, then coat with bread crumbs. In a skillet over medium heat cook chicken in butter until browned on both sides.

3. Add chicken broth to the skillet and stir to loosen up browned bits from pan. Stir in cream, basil, and pepper and bring to a boil. Turn heat to low and whisk in Parmesan cheese.

4. Pour sauce over the chicken and serve.

Click Below to Print Recipe

Chicken in Basil Cream Sauce

Actions

Information

One response

14 10 2011
Gretchen

This was really tasty!! I love coming to your house when you try new recipes-or just coming over!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

