Thumbprint Cookies

19 12 2011

These are one of my absolute favorite cookies. I remember as a young girl making these to enter into Girl Scout Baking competitions. I would have to make them all by myself, with no help from an adult. They were so fun to make and the earned me a blue ribbon as well.

This recipe comes from the Betty Crocker’s Picture Cookbook. This is a cookbook that I remember my mom cooking from as a kid and when I got married she got it for us as well. Lots of great recipes inside, but again this is my favorite.

image

Thumbprint Cookies

~ 1/2 cup soft shortening

~ 1/4 cup brown sugar

~ 1 egg yolk (save the egg white for later)

~ 1/2 tsp. vanilla

~ 1 cup flour

~ 1/4 tsp. salt

~ 3/4 cup finely chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

~ 1 egg white

~ favorite jelly (I use raspberry)

1. Preheat oven to 375 o F.

2. Mix together thoroughly shortening, brown sugar, egg yolk, and vanilla. Sift together the flour and salt and then stir into the mixture.

3. Roll into 1 inch balls. Dip in slightly beaten egg whites. Roll in finely chopped nuts. Place about 1 inch apart on ungreased baking sheet. Bake 5 minutes. Remove from oven. Quickly press thumb gently on top of each cookie. Return to oven and bake 8 minutes longer.

4. Remove from oven and place in each thumbprint a teaspoon full of jelly then cool completely.

Makes about 2 dozen 1 1/2 inch cookies.

Click Below to Print Recipe

Thumbprint Cookies

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 02 2012
Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies « 4peatssake

[…] favorite cookie recipe of mine is thumbprint cookies. I also am a big fan of Hershey’s Hugs candy’s. They are white chocolate and milk chocolate […]

3 12 2013
Christmas Cookies | 4peatssake

[…] Thumprint cookies have been my favorite since I was a child. I remember making these for a Girl Scout Bake Off one year all by myself. […]

Leave a Reply

