What was in those baskets on January 7th?

7 01 2012

Well I don’t know about everyone else but I was starting to have Bountiful Basket withdrawals. While it was very nice to have a few weeks off my family and I missed the fresh fruits and veggies that Bountiful Baskets provides. Not only that but way to start the new year off right with Olive Oil as an extra offering. We had a great turn out of volunteers and things ran smoothly. I know that we really couldn’t do it without all our awesome volunteers!

_DSC2318

This weeks basket included grapes, blackberries, Asian pears, apples, tomatoes, bananas, avocados, radishes, lettuce, spinach, broccoli, onions, and clementine’s.

If you have a hard time getting all your apples eaten, like my family some times does, then make the Baked Apple Crisps. As soon as I did this they disappeared faster than I could make them. I love to eat them and any of the other fruit with this Fruit Dip.

We got a lot of bananas in our basket and I am planning on making either the Chocolate Chip Coconut Banana Bread or the Pineapple, Banana, Coconut, and White Chocolate Chip Bread. If your blackberries don’t disappear before nights end this Blackberry Cake is a great dessert served warm with vanilla ice cream.

Lately my favorite way to cook the broccoli is by making Broccoli with Cashews. A few months ago our families favorite was Chicken and Broccoli stir fry with Peanut Sauce. Also check out Broccoli Casserole and Oven Roasted Broccoli.

You can chop up some onion and add it to almost any recipe but The Pioneer Woman’s Black-Eyed Pea Dip and these Baked Onion Rings are favorites in our house.

I plan on using my spinach to make Chicken Parmesan Bundles. But the Chicken Florentine Bowtie Pasta and Mini Florentine Cups are also great choices. Just remember that any recipe that calls for frozen spinach can easily be substituted by your fresh spinach. Just wilt it down in a pan and 1 bundle equals one box of frozen.

I hope every one’s new year is starting off great and that your baskets were as bountiful as mine was. Let me know what you plan on making with your produce. See everyone next week.

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 01 2012
Dina

Thanks! Would you have any suggestions for the veggie pack?

7 01 2012
callie3

I am not quite sure what you got. If you got mushrooms I have some great mushroom recipes like the Spinach Mushroom Cannellonie, Chicken with prosciutto, fontina, and mushroom sauce, or the creamy chicken spaghettie casserole.

If you aren’t going to use your herbs right away you can hang them up to dry so that you can use them later on. Just hang them from clothes pins on a clothes hanger to dry.

If you got zucchini my favorite is barbecued zucchinii.

If you got eggplant I usually make eggplant Parmesan. Cut your eggplant into rounds and soak in a salt water bath for a few minutes on each side. Pat dry and then bread. Once it is breaded you can either fry it up or bake it in the oven. Melt mozzarella cheese over the top and spread some pasta sauce over it.

Hope this helps. Let me know if there is something more specific that you are looking for.

Leave a Reply

