What was in those baskets on January 14th?

14 01 2012

Another great week at the Kingman site and a great group of volunteers. I know I say it every week but we really do have the best volunteers and we really couldn’t do it with out all of them.

_DSC2319

This weeks basket had broccoli, cauliflower, Brussels sprouts, pineapple, oranges, tomatoes, avocado, lettuce, bananas, mushrooms, watermelon, and kiwi.

My 2 favorite recipes for the tomatoes are Baked Parmesan Tomatoes and Tomato and Basil Bruschetta. If your tomatoes aren’t as ripe as you like remember to set them on your counter until the desired ripeness.

For the pineapple try Grilled Pineapple, it really brings out the flavor in the pineapple and is a great side dish. Or make Teriyaki Pineapple Turkey Burgers. If you are in the mood for some sorbet in the middle of winter try making Tropical Fruit Sorbet with your bananas, pineapple, and oranges.

Last week I was not able to make any of my banana breads because my kids decided that their favorite fruit for the week was the banana’s. This week I hope they have slowed down a bit so I can make Chocolate Chip Coconut Banana Bread or Pineapple, Banana, Coconut, and White Chocolate Chip Bread.

Last week I used my broccoli to make Chicken and Broccoli Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce, but this week I am planning on making Broccoli with Cashews. But this Broccoli and Tortellini Salad is also a great addition to a meal.

Cauliflower is a favorite of mine and my favorite way to enjoy it is Cauliflower with White Sauce. We also like Cauliflower Fritters and Oven Roasted Cauliflower. You can also boil your cauliflower with potatoes and mash them together to make mashed potatoes. Your kids won’t even know there is cauliflower in them, especially if you add cheese to them!

I haven’t decided what to use the mushrooms for yet but a few of my favorites are Chicken with Prosciutto, Fontina, and Mushroom Suace, Creamy Chicken Spaghetti Casserole, Salisbury Steak, or Blue Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms.

I hope everyone has a great week and enjoys their great basket. Let me know what you plan on making and keep checking back for new recipes.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

