Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic and Cranberries

19 01 2012

I am going to be completely honest, up until now I have disliked Brussels Sprouts. Maybe it was because the only way I remember eating them growing up was boiled and dipped in either mayo or butter. My dad loves these little things and I always remember going out into the garden with my sisters and picking them and throwing them over the fence. So to be honest I was a bit scared when they came in our Bountiful Basket this last weekend.

image

But I figured I would find a recipe and give them a second chance since everyone or thing deserves a second chance. Much to my amazement I feel in love with this recipe. Although lets be honest it was from The Pioneer Woman and I have not ever found one of her recipes that I didn’t like. So I had one thing going for me. The sweet Balsamic reduction that you make really complemented the sometimes bitter tasting Brussels Sprouts. This was such a great recipe that my four year old gobbled them up and asked for more before she ate anything else off of her plate. I hope you enjoy Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic and Cranberries as much as my family did.

image

Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic and Cranberries

~ 1-2 pounds Brussels Sprouts

~ 1/2 cup olive oil

~ salt and pepper

~ 1 cup Balsamic Vinegar

~ 1/2 cup sugar

~ 1/2 cup dried cranberries or more to taste

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Trim and clean Brussels sprouts, then cut them in half if desired. Arrange on baking sheet and toss with olive oil. Sprinkle with plenty of salt and pepper and roast at 375 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes, or until brown.

2. Combine balsamic vinegar and sugar in a saucepan. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium-low and reduce until very thick, about 15 to 20 minutes.

3. Drizzle the balsamic reduction over the roasted Brussels Sprouts to taste. Then sprinkle on dried cranberries. Toss and serve immediately.

Click Below to Print Recipe

Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic and Cranberries

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 01 2012
What was in those baskets on January 21st « 4peatssake

[…] of our produce as sides to our meals. I plan on making Corn Chowder, Baked Parmesan Tomatoes, and Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic and Cranberries with some of our produce. The Brussels Spouts were a huge hit in my house and I was thinking about […]

3 03 2012
What was in those baskets on March 3rd « 4peatssake

[…] Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic and Cranberries […]

7 04 2012
What was in those baskets on April 7th « 4peatssake

[…] Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic and Cranberries […]

14 04 2012
What was in those baskets on April 14th « 4peatssake

[…] Brussel Sprouts with Balsamic and Cranberries […]

Leave a Reply

