What was in those baskets on January 28th

28 01 2012

Wow, where do I begin! Today was a crazy morning. The wind here was blowing pretty strong and quite chilly but even with that and a late truck our awesome volunteers moved quickly to get things sorted. Thanks to all of the volunteers and I hope everyone enjoys their wonderful produce this week.

image

The picture above is similar to what we got in our basket with a few differences, I wasn’t unable to get a picture so I borrowed this one from Inspired RD. This weeks basket had asparagus, green beans, cabbage, lettuce, tomatoes, blueberries, apples, red bell peppers, green bell peppers, potatoes, onions, oranges, and grapefruit.

I was super excited to get green beans because my two favorite recipes are Bacon Wrapped Green Beans and Oven Roasted Green Beans with Garlic. Both of these recipes are amazing and you wont be disappointed.

Asparagus is another favorite of mine and I like to make Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus, Balsamic Asparagus or Oven Roasted Asparagus. All are family favorites.

For those cute little red potatoes try making Bacon, Cheese and Potato soup or Smashed Hot Potatoes with them. My family is also a fan of Onion-Roasted Potatoes and Parmesan Roasted Potatoes.

At our site we got a lot of tomatoes. This last week we took our tomatoes and mad Tomato and Basil Bruschetta on the Italian Olive Oil Bread we got. It was great and I plan on doing it again this week since we froze a few loves.

If you have a lot of apples trying making Baked Apple Crisps. My apples disappeared a lot faster when I made these!

If you got the Tropical Pack and ended up with a coconut and aren’t sure what to do like I was the first time. Check out my post on how to get the coconut meat out of a coconut. Once you have that meat out grate it up and you can freeze it to use in later recipes or you could make my favorite sweet bread, Coconut Almond Bread! It will seriously change your life!

Please feel free to let me know what you think of my recipes and share what you plan to do with your produce this week!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

