What was in those baskets on February 4th?

4 02 2012

What a great big basket this week! Amazing fruit and veggies and a great selection of extras offered as well. We had a lot of new volunteers at our site and we are so thankful for each and every one of them. They are so important to making this a great thing for our community.

_DSC2345

This weeks basket had a pineapple, strawberries, apples, Fuji apples, broccoli, lettuce, asparagus, radishes, potatoes, onions, red bell peppers and celery.  The guacamole pack had avocado, lemons, limes, cilantro, green onions, onions, garlic, and jalapeños.

We are in love with asparagus in our house. Even my kids love it. Our favorite ways to cook it are Oven Roasted Asparagus and Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus. If you are a fan of Balsamic vinegar defiantly try Balsamic Asparagus Chicken.

I got a case of apples and so I am defiantly making this Fruit Dip recipe to dip my apples in. We will also be making Baked Apple Crisps and Pan Fried Pork Chops with Glazed Apples.

Chicken and Broccoli Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce is a favorite in our house. But last week I heard that someone added chicken to this Broccoli with Cashew recipe and so I am going to give that a try this week. Check out this Broccoli and Tortellini Salad, it is also amazing.

I couldn’t believe the size of the tomatoes we got in our basket and as soon as I saw them I figured they would be great for making Baked Parmesan Tomatoes.

Since Super Bowl is tomorrow use your potatoes to make Potato Skins. Also give these Cheesy Potato Cakes, Onion Roasted Potatoes, or Parmesan Roasted Potatoes a try.

If you to the guacamole pack try Guacamole or Black Bean, Corn, & Avocado dip.

I hope everyone enjoys their basket and let me know what you make with your wonderful produce this week.

Actions

Information

5 responses

4 02 2012
Leslie

Ideas for the radishes??? 🙂

4 02 2012
callie3

I actually make a salad most days for lunch and when we get radishes I just chop them up really fine and add them into my salad. If you want to cook them there are several radish recipes on the Bountiful Basket Pinterest page. http://pinterest.com/bountiflbaskets/root-vegetables/ Hope this helps!

4 02 2012
sherrie gentry

yes this weeks baskets were great!! lots of veggies and the Guacamole pack was awesome! we helped this week and it was a great time to get in there and
help the regular site folks.. the truck was late so everyone was willing to jump in and lend a hand! I love love love BB!! I look forward to getting out to the site on Saturdays!!!

4 02 2012
Amy

I received 4 lg pack of radishes… Help! Does anyone have a good recipe for radishes? Love everything, .. except those. One bunch would have been enough. 🙂

4 02 2012
brooke

Enjoyed your parmasean tomato recipe…thanks.

Leave a Reply

