Behavior Clip Chart

16 04 2012

I don’t know about anybody else who has kids but my daughter is now 4 1/2 and I am still waiting for the terrible two’s to end. In fact over the last month things have been the worst that they have every been. So in a hunt to try something new to hopefully wipe my child out of this funk I decided to enact the Clip Chart in my house.

_DSC2464

The idea came from my daughters preschool class. They have the same system in class and she loves it. She comes home every day and can’t wait to tell us where she ended her day and if she got “bling”. So I went searching and found this cute chart over at Little Miss Glamour Goes to Kindergarten.

_DSC2465

I modified it a bit to fit our house only using superstar, rockin’, fabulous, good, warning, and cool down. I didn’t think that parent contact or go to the office would work no matter how much I wished it would.

How it works is every day both of my kids clips start out on good. As I see them playing nicely, using good manners, following directions, or any other good behavior I instruct them to go move their clip up to the next level. If there is bad behavior I usually give a warning first and let them know that if it happens again then their clip will get moved down. The exception to this is if there is hitting then the clip gets moved down automatically. At the end of the day if their clip is on red then my kids receive a treat. However you could reward them with a sticker or “bling” on their clip (sticker rhinestones). If they end up on Cool down at any point of the day then they get 30 minutes by themselves in their room to cool down.

_DSC2466

This has been in our house for almost two weeks and so far it is working great. My 2 1/2 year old son loves it. He gets so excited to move his clip up and as the day is coming to an end he gets super excited when he knows that he is on red. I choose to not use red for cool down because I feel that so many times red is negative and I really wanted mine to just mimic the rainbow and not have any negative connotation to behavior.

I hope this helps you in your house with discipline, let me know what you use to help with discipline in your house.

Click here to Download Clip Chart Graphics

(I printed two per page so that my clip chart wasn’t super big)

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 04 2012
heartjourney

You know, having worked in an elementary school (as the librarian) you’d think I would have thought to use this method with my kids. I had not. Thanks for the idea!

19 09 2013
R

Love this, thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

