What was in those baskets on April 30th?

30 04 2011

What a crazy morning. Thanks to all the volunteers that stood in the cold wind waiting for the late truck to arrive.  Not only that but a big thanks to unloading and sorting the produce so quick. We defiantly couldn’t do it without you!!!!

_DSC1244

So what did we get a great basket filled with 4 bananas, 2 grapefruit, 3 apples, 1 broccoli, 2 cauliflower, 2 strawberries, 5 ears of corn, 1 cucumber, 1 bag of cherry tomatoes, and 1 pineapple.

I am defiantly making the strawberry cake again. It was such a great dessert that my family loved. But check out the strawberry lemonade recipe, it was a great summer drink as well. I always love to get cauliflower in our baskets so that I can make cauliflower with white sauce, a childhood favorite of mine. The corn I plan to barbecue on the grill for a great side dish. I have some great ideas for the spinach but check out the other spinach recipes I have made.

Hope everyone enjoys there basket and we will see you next week!


Actions

Information

2 responses

30 04 2011
Nancy

I am curious about why the baskets differ. Do you know? We didn’t get tomatoes or cucumber in our basket today, but we did get potatoes and watermelon.

1 05 2011
callie3

We got tomatoes as a substitution for yams and we were supposed to get watermelon but there were none on the truck. Some times sites get different things if they don’t receive enough of an item, or if there produce comes in and is not good enough to put out into baskets, and it sometimes is based on the locations. Lots of reasons but in the end everyone gets there $15 worth of produce and I think we still got a great basket today!

Leave a comment